They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

External set up and Copy files

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

External set up and Copy files

Postby momoffduty » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:39 am

The Seagate externals arrived (thanks from another thread). This is a grey area for me so a few questions.

1. I do not want to use the Seagate software. When I first plug in is there an option to NOT install the software? Will I need a the driver for the external?

I use EaseUs for backups on my other externals. The plan for the 2 Seagates is to hold old projects and media files. I want to copy the files and add on occasion to free up space on my internal drive. The files on the externals may be used in future projects or old projects may be used as reference. So I do not want a compressed version. 2 Seagates = 2 Copies

2. What is the best way to copy the files the initial times? Lots of XXX GBs.
3. Future adding files won't be as many, just copy folder by folder?

Thanks,
Cheryl
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 6985
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:47 am

Hi Cheryl,

You won't need a driver and you don't need to install the software.

First backup should be a Disk/Partition backup Full, then incremental backups from then on will be sufficient. Just set up a system backup (on the Home tab). After the backup runs successfully you can schedule the backup or just run it manually from the Management tab.

You might want to do a clone of the new system as well but do it after you have all of your software installed.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:48 am

Changed the above to a Disk/Partition Backup rather than a System backup. I always do a full Disk/Partition backup and then manually do incremental backups to that file on a regular basis.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby Peru » Thu Sep 15, 2016 12:21 pm

Some external drives have a folder (or files not in a folder) that include utilities. I copy these files to a folder where I keep applications and drivers in case I need them. I then delete them from the external hard drive (or format the drive) to make more room on the external.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby momoffduty » Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:39 pm

Chuck, the 2 Seagates are not for backup.
Peru, good tip! I didn't do that with the Buffalo externals.

Maybe I didn't explain things clearly. Here is my set up to give a better picture.
C: Program files
D: Projects, media files, docs, etc.

2 Buffalo externals for backup on a rotating basis of the D drive.

2 Seagates that I want to hold my old projects and media files. They would be identical in content (heir & a spare). I want them to have folders like my D drive.

I want to copy (not sure the right term) lets say all my old AE projects, PrPro projects, photos, video files from prior to 2014 to the Seagates.
After that is done, delete those items from my D drive to free up space.
Example, in 2017 copy additional files to both Seagates of 2015 projects & media.
Then delete 2015 from the D drive.
Rinse and repeat each year.

I would be keeping last 2 years of content on the D drive and older items on the Seagates.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 6985
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:33 pm

Clone the D drive to the new Seagate drive?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby momoffduty » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:41 pm

I've never cloned before. Will it have the exact content? I could then just delete the unwanted items from the Seagate. My other thought was to copy folder by folder.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 6985
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby sidd finch » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:13 pm

When I used the EaseUS software I remember that there was a menu of what items you wanted to copy.

Sidd
My pictures are made without script or written directions of any kind. I don't feel qualified to talk about my work. - Buster Keaton
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3788
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:10 pm

Yes but Cheryl doesn't really want to make a backup. Doing anything other than a clone would simply create an EaseUS backup file.

Cheryl, Why not just copy the contents of the D drive to the new drive in Windows Explorer? No real need to use backup software if that is all you want to accomplish. And yes, the clone would make an exact copy of the D drive onto your external drive.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby momoffduty » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:06 pm

Chuck Engels wrote:
Cheryl, Why not just copy the contents of the D drive to the new drive in Windows Explorer? .


This is the route I am going with. About 1/2 done copying onto the first external. This will take awhile, but once I have the bulk transferred adding just a year at a time later will be faster.

Thanks for everyone's help!
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 6985
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby momoffduty » Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:55 am

UPDATE:
Copied the folders to the 2 Seagate externals. First I took a screen shot of my D drive and printed. Was easy to check off as I transferred to each drive. It was a good checkoff system to see what folders I wanted to delete. Printed 2 more screen shots of the new externals. I do not have these connected all of the time so handy to remember what I transferred. After freeing up space on the D drive, I moved the Digital Juice catalog (40GB) from the C drive to the D drive.

Lots of free space on both internal drives now. Thanks for everyone's help!
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 6985
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: External set up and Copy files

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Sep 30, 2016 11:29 am

:TU:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests