They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Videographer Pricing and Copyright

Have a [video] service you'd like to promote - whether online or at your home/office? Do you need a video related professional? This is the place. Post your inquiries, website links and requests for services here. Of course, no spam please ! - has to be digital video/photography related.

Videographer Pricing and Copyright

Postby fishmor » Thu Feb 10, 2011 1:17 am

Hi - I'm Eric and new to Muvipix but have been shooting video for a couple of years and have worked with PRE 8 for a while - I started a little side business (I'm a full time science teacher) in central South Dakota - I've been shooting video and making DVD's / web videos for hunting lodges, hunters/fishermen etc in our local area and I am an outdoorsman myself - I have 2 basic questions

1. I'm charging about $80 for an hour shoot, and $60 for each hour after that. I'm charging $55 per hour to edit. I also do a full day (usually 6 hrs) edited package for $450 - I'm shooting with a Canon XHA1S, shotgun mic and external when necessary. Are these prices too cheap or reasonable???

2. I've been hired by some lodges to shoot some hunting for their clients to take home DVD's - who has the copyright on the raw footage, the edited footage, etc? I've talked with a local photographer who thinks that anything that comes out of my camera or computer is automatically copyrighted by me; but, some say that since they hired me, they own the copyright - how does this work in the world of videography?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated
fishmor
New User
New User

Re: Videographer Pricing and Copyright

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:42 am