It's here! Another Muvipix.com Guide by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guide to Sony Movie Studio 13!
 
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour (new)

WinDV and Vista?

Discussions concerning Premiere Elements version 1 - 4.
  • Site Support (Registered users do not see Ads)

WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:33 pm

I always used WinDV to capture camcorder footage in my PE2/Windows XP days. But after trying to capture with my Vista PC, I'm now getting the "device not found" message with WinDV. Does anyone know if WinDV will work with Vista? If not, what's the best alternative?

thanks,
steve
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Site Support (Registered users do not see Ads)

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:51 pm

Have you tried running it in XP Compatability Mode?
The latest version is from 2003, so I doubt that it is Vista compatible.
Another great reason for me to not switch to Vista !

The next best capture utility might be Windows Movie Maker.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15636
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:53 pm

Chuck, I'm afraid I'm not quite sure what XP Compatibility Mode refers to. How do I try that?

thanks,
steve
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:55 pm

You're right, Steve. WinDV isn't yet available for Vista. We'll have to wait for either an update or a similar program to appear.

Meantime, you can certainly use Windows MovieMaker to capture.
3.2 ghz i5 quad core running Windows 7 64-bit with 8 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX Mavericks and Boot Camp Windows 8.1 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 10003
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:59 pm

In XP, and I am hoping that Vista is similar, right click on the .exe file and choose Properties.
There you should see a Compatibility tab and you can select to run the program in different modes.
The XP one never worked that great when it came to Win95 programs but it was always worth a try ;)

We'll have to wait for either an update or a similar program to appear.


Since the latest version is from 2003 I doubt there will be a new one coming out, you can always email the creator and ask http://windv.mourek.cz/
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15636
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:03 pm

Thanks, Chuck and Steve. I did try the XP compatibility, but no luck there. I'll give WMM a whirl.

steve
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:14 pm

Uh-oh. Now, WMM won't recognize my digital camcorder (Canon Optura Xi) when connected via USB. I sure hope this isn't the beginning of a long line of Vista-related problems!
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:15 pm

I have sent Mr. Petr Mourek an email and will let you know if/when he responds.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15636
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:16 pm

spressman wrote:Uh-oh. Now, WMM won't recognize my digital camcorder (Canon Optura Xi) when connected via USB.


Steve, Have you tried Firewire?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15636
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:18 pm

I also found this freeware utility, which is Vista compatible.
http://www.exsate.com/products/dvcapture/
3.2 ghz i5 quad core running Windows 7 64-bit with 8 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX Mavericks and Boot Camp Windows 8.1 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 10003
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:22 pm

I'm still rummaging through my box of cables to see if there's a firewire in there. But I'll also check out Steve's other option. Gee, they warned me there'd be Vista days like this!!
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:55 pm

Whew! I found my firewire cable, and importing with WMM worked just fine. Thanks again for all your help.

steve
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:49 pm

Weren't you using Firewire for the WinDV capture?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15636
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby spressman » Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:36 pm

Come to think of it, I wasn't -- brain-freeze time! Time to try it again, though I've since come across some other web postings about WinDV not working with Vista.

By the way, I see that WMM broke a lengthy video clip into separate scenes during capture. But the separate scenes seem only to exist within WMM itself. Is there a way to import individual scenes into PE4? I don't have much experience working with WMM.
User avatar
spressman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: WinDV and Vista?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:05 pm

When the clips were captured you must have set the location, just do an import files and folders from Premiere Elements and browse to them.
If they are not DV-AVI you can export the clips from Movie Maker, there is a tutorial on how to do that in the Products/Complimentary section here at Muvipix.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15636
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to Prior Versions 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests

  • Site Support (Registered users do not see Ads)