They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

iMovie 09 - How come SHOW FONTS button missing from Tiltles

For our MAC users, questions about the various Video Editing software products.

iMovie 09 - How come SHOW FONTS button missing from Tiltles

Postby ryan_khoo » Sun Mar 15, 2009 12:16 am

I look at this Apple tutorial on Titles:
http://www.apple.com/ilife/tutorials/#imovie-titles

According to this tutorial on Titles, we can change the font styles, font colour and font size by clicking the "SHOW FONTS" button on the top left.

But this is missing from my system. I only have "DONE" button on the top right.

Anyone knows how can I make the "SHOW FONTS" button appear.

Thanks
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: iMovie 09 - How come SHOW FONTS button missing from Tiltles

Postby ryan_khoo » Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:57 am

What I found out is that some preset Titles do not allow you to change font type, font size and font colour, so it is like take it or leave it. For this type of titles, there is no "SHOW OPTION" button.

Cheers
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am

Re: iMovie 09 - How come SHOW FONTS button missing from Tiltles

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:54 am

Good to know for future reference, thanks Ryan.
Looks like you are one of our pioneers :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17469
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: iMovie 09 - How come SHOW FONTS button missing from Tiltles

Postby ryan_khoo » Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:20 am

Hahaha, of cos I am not the pioneers, I am just a late starter of the Mac. I think there were a few guys talking about Mac some time ago.

Anyway, I am gonna post here my experience of having to be able to run 2 version of iMovie. That is iMovie HD 06 and iMovie 09.

My iMac comes with the latest iMovie 09 but many users (me included) like to use the older iMovie HD 06 (partly because it has lots of plugins). But to install iMovie HD 06 when you already have iMovie 09 takes some courage for computer illiterate person like me. So, I searched for advise in the Apple forum. Many told me that that was not possible (mostly guessing or giving opinions), however I stumble upon 2 kind souls who gave me a step by step instruction on how to install it.

As I have tried it & it works, I shall cut & paste it here for future reference. Hopefully others will find it useful.

...................................................................................................
I have iLife 09 in my system. Then I got a copy of iLife 06 and installed iMovie HD 6.
It installed OK and ran OK.

I then went to use iMovie 09 and it hung up so I re-installed iLife 09. After that everything works.
I am using both iMovie HD and iMovie 09.

iMovie HD will show in your Applications as a folder called iMovie (previous version).
If you click on that folder, in the next pane it will show the old iMovie HD icon.
Drag that out onto your dock and you can have both iMovies side by side (they have different icons).
Also drag the icon into the main Applications pane and you will be able to update iMovie HD to the latest version.

The old iLife 06 disc that I used to load iMovie HD had iMove HD version 6.0.

Now Apple has updates to version 6 still available to upgrade to version 6.0.3.

However when I tried to update it told me that I did not have iMovie HD on my computer (which I did).

I finally found that this was because of the folder called iMove HD previous version in the main Applications pane.

If you open your Applications - double click on Macintosh HD then click on Applications. You will see an alphabetical listing of all the software on your computer with their icons. With iMovie HD there was no icon, just a folder then an arrow pointing to the right which led to the next pane in which the iMovie HD icon was located.

So I dragged this icon back into the main pane with all the alphabetical listings and placed it before iMovie 09.
Then the upgrade worked. I still have the folder there as well.

Hope that clarifies things for you.

A lot of people are using HD 6 and 09, you should not have a problem.

.......................................................................................................................


Hope the above is useful.
ryan_khoo
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:48 am


Return to MAC 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest