They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

For our MAC users, questions about the various Video Editing software products.

can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby akcorcoran » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:24 pm

I'm trying to save time here - can I import DV tapes to my iMac via ADVC300 and import different DV tapes via Roxio Media Creator 10 or Premiere Elements to my Sony PC - and then work with either/both in iMovie or Final Cut Express? Is there a format I have to choose when importing?

That would save me HOURS - I have an external drive on Sony that has about 400 GB of free space, and as we've established, about 600 GB on external connected to my iMac.

Thanks!
Alexa
User avatar
akcorcoran
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:24 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:26 pm

They're both DV files with essentially the same video data. But PCs prefer AVIs and Macs prefer MOVs. So I'd recommend NOT sharing editable video files between them and instead doing captures only for the machines you plan to edit on.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12672
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby akcorcoran » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:04 pm

Ah, sigh - ok, thanks. Adding back on the hours of capture... :)
User avatar
akcorcoran
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:24 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:11 pm

Just for the sake of testing you might want to try a 10 minute clip captured in either format, maybe both.
Try them out in both programs and see what kind of results you get, you might be pleasantly surprised :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17462
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby akcorcoran » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:28 pm

Thanks, Chuck - good idea. I think I'll have to pull AVIs into FCE and render them though - which I believe eliminates the option of working within the native audio... I believe I can add different tracks and fade in/out, etc. - add audio transitions, but I can't lower or raise or clean audio that was originally with video when I have to pull in and render. So, that would be an issue I suspect.

But, I'll give it a try - as always, thanks!
User avatar
akcorcoran
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:24 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:31 pm

That wouldn't be a fair comparison of quality, Alexa.

I think what Chuck is proposing is to capture some video into Premiere Elements as a DV-AVI, edit and output and then compare the results to the same footage captured on a Mac, edited in iMovie or Final Cut and then output to as similar as possible format (both to DVD for instance).
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12672
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: can I work with footage imported on Mac and PC?

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:33 pm

I was thinking more along the lines of capturing DV-AVI in Premiere Elements and then edit in Final Cut, or capture MOV in Final Cut and edit in Premiere Elements.
Whatever you want the workflow to be, just give it a try and see how it works.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17462
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to MAC 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron