They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Is Reusing Mini DV Tapes Advisable?

MiniDV, DVD, Hard Drive, 8 mm, High Def, brands, import / capture techniques, settings ... talk about camcorders in here.

Is Reusing Mini DV Tapes Advisable?

Postby George Tyndall » Sun May 09, 2010 3:33 pm

I've got some relatively-expensive ($22-25, depending on source) HDV 63-minute tapes that are marketed by Canon, called DigitalMaster For Professional Use (HDVM-E63PR).

I've never done this before, so I need to ask: Once they have been captured to my HDDs with HDVSplit, is there any reason not to reuse Mini DV tapes? One advisor said, "You can reuse them a number of times, until you see problems with a recording, then it's time to toss them."

The problem with that advice, of course, is that if I wait until I see problem while playing back a recording, only then will I know that the recording session needs to be rescheduled and reshot. :pull:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Re: Is Reusing Mini DV Tapes Advisable?

Postby Briantho » Sun May 09, 2010 4:20 pm