They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Fast HDV Shooting/Capture Workflow & Tips

MiniDV, DVD, Hard Drive, 8 mm, High Def, brands, import / capture techniques, settings ... talk about camcorders in here.

Fast HDV Shooting/Capture Workflow & Tips

Postby George Tyndall » Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:10 pm

I am a photographer who vastly prefers shooting to editing, so I've been working on a method that will allow me to get from Capturing to Exporting in Premiere 3.0 in as little time as possible.

My ultimate goal is to end up with a Hi Def WMV file on my hard drive (HD) that I can view with either Windows Media Player or Windows Media Center. Occasionally, I will also wish to create a Standard Def (SD) DVD for a friend, so I will sometimes also Export the HD Video on the Timeline as a DV AVI file, from which I will subsequently burn a DVD while I am sleeping.

I created the subject video at Burton Chace Park in Marina del Rey, California, on June 8. It is 33 Minutes, 56 Seconds long (File Size: 389.73MB)

As suggested by another muvipix member, before exporting I created a Custom Preset in the Export Windows Media window prior to beginning the export to my HD, and I clicked Save just before going to sleep. (The Rendering window had informed me that the Estimated Time Left to render the 61035 frames was 5 hours 30 minutes!)

The Keys to this method for creating a Hi Def video on your HD in minimal time are as follows:

1) Create a tape that you are preferably satisfied with from Start to Finish, i.e., one that requires minimal to no editing.