They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Analogue to Digital Converter Help

MUsic / VIdeo / PIX related, plugins, filters, must have tools.

Analogue to Digital Converter Help

Postby Avagadro1 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:20 pm

Question about analogue to digital converters.

I am a beginner who as of yet does not own video editing software and has never worked on a video (though I own Photoshop for still images). Like so many others, I wish to convert some VHS home movies from the 1970s and 80s to DVD. I’ve done my homework but need input from some experienced individuals with respect to the purchase of an analog to digital converter.

At the consumer level, there seem to be just three A to D converters:
The Grass Valley/Canopus ADVC-55,
The Grass Valley/Canopus ADVC-110, and
The Grass Valley/Canopus ADVC-300.

I understand that the 110 is otherwise identical to the 55, but the former is bidirectional. Since I will never want to save a digital signal onto a VHS tape, it would seem that the 110 is wasted money over the model 55.

The model 300 seems to be an entirely different animal (and much more expensive). Its advantages are that it does something called “Time Based Correction”, which I understand can be helpful in converting older VHS tapes. The model 300 also includes software to correct the image during capture. Even thought the model 300 is so much more expensive than the 55, given that this will be a once-in-a-lifetime project (and I do not anticipate ever using it again), I would consider paying the price if, in fact, it produced a truly superior end product.

(Note: I also intend to purchase some editing software: Premier Elements, Sony, VideoStudio or other, but have held off due to so may poor Amazon and Newegg reviews on all of them, but I’ll definitely choose one.)