They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Two videos: would this work?

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

Two videos: would this work?

Postby don731 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 11:05 am

So here is something that I want to try:

Can I edit in V.14 to have two separate video streams playing in the same frame? In other words, my final video would be two separate "cameras" at the same time. I'm considering outputting the final double video to two separate DLP projectors in Win7 using two "displays". Not sure if this would work or not!

Cheers,
Don in Chicagoland
don731
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby sidd finch » Sat Sep 03, 2016 11:18 am

Don I do not think it would work. Would it be two separate videos that you need to synchronize? Or you want the same video to separate outputs?

If you want the same video to two separate outputs you might try getting a splitter that allows your computer to feed 2 separate monitors.

Sidd
My pictures are made without script or written directions of any kind. I don't feel qualified to talk about my work. - Buster Keaton
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3701
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:24 pm

If you're just trying to do a split screen, with two videos sharing space on the same video frame, yes, that can be easily done though!
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12441
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:31 am

don731 wrote:I'm considering outputting the final double video to two separate DLP projectors in Win7 using two "displays".

I can see that it MIGHT work but until you try it...I think that the problem might be in the set up of the DLPs(?)

Are you able to try it before committing too much time/energy to the project?
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, 1Gb nVidia GTS250, Akasa card reader, Antec P183 case. Samsung 19" TFT 1280 x 1024, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8GB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby don731 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:19 am

Steve,

A split screen is exactly what I want to do! Then have Win7 recognize the two DLPs (one hooked to the VGA output, one to the HDMI output) recognized as two displays, with each one showing one video. I realize there would be something else I would need to do in the display prefs, so that each output would only show one half of the full frame. I read on the Light-o-Rama forums that someone had figured out something similar. Being a Mac guy, my skills in manipulating Win7 are not robust.... :-D

The reason I want to accomplish this is that the LOR software will only "play" one video at a time, and it would be fun to project different videos during the same song to different areas of my train/village display.

Cheers,
Don
don731
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:34 pm

What model of camcorder is your video coming from and what resolution is it?

FWIW, we take you step by step through this process in our "Cool Tricks & Hot Tips for Adobe Premiere Elements 14" book.
http://muvipix.com/cooltricks14.php
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12441
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby Bob » Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:35 pm

I just tried an experiment -- a proof of concept. I use Premiere Pro, I don't know if you can do this in Premiere Elements -- I'll leave that to Steve or Chuck to answer. I created a custom sequence 3840x1080. I added a 1920x1080 clip and placed two copies on the time line. Track 1 I aligned left and track 2 I aligned right. This placed the two copies side by side on the monitor. I then exported the sequence to a mp4 with a custom 3840x1080 frame size. I used high profile and level 5.1. (default settings would not support the double wide frame size). I played it back fullscreen on a dual monitor setup with the windows desktop extended over the two monitors. The video filled the screens with half on each monitor. In effect, this is what you were asking for -- Imagine two video projectors instead of two monitors.

Steve or Chuck: 1) Can Premiere Elements 14 create the custom double wide project frame size. And, 2) can it export it?
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5655
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby don731 » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:15 am

This is exactly what I hope to do! Thank you!

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
don731
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:38 am

You can't create a custom frame size in Premiere Elements, but you can run two videos side-by-side in an 1920x1080 frame.

You still haven't said what your video specs are, so this is based on 1920x1080 AVCHD.

Place one video on your Video 1 track. Open Applied Effects/Motion and set Position to 485 500 and Scale to 50%.

Please your other video on the Video 2 track, directly above your first video. In Applied Effects/Motion, set 1465 500 and Scale to 50%.

That gives you simultaneous side-by-side playback. But, as I've said, in our "Cool Tricks" book, we show you some other configurations as well as how to apply animated movements to the clips.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12441
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:30 am

There are some hacks for creating custom sizes, it calls for editing the PREL file. This worked in version 12 and should still work in version 14. I never recommend editing the PREL file but this is supposed to work to create custom project screen/resolution sizes ::C
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17283
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby don731 » Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:57 pm

Sony HDRCX240/B camera about two years old.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
don731
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Two videos: would this work?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:03 pm

Assuming you are shooting in 1920x1080 AVCHD, the Motion settings in my post will work then.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12441
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron