They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

How do I add a black space between two clips?

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

How do I add a black space between two clips?

Postby Photochief » Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:59 pm

Hi to all,
I am a beginner trying to learn PRE 14 and have 2 film clips of approximately 55 minutes each that I wish to put on the same DVD.
I have considered creating a menu so one could choose either clip, but find it too confusing for this senior citizen so have decided to just put a 5 second black screen between the two clips but haven't been able to figure out how to do that either. At one time I think I saw a tutorial on this site on menu's but can no longer find it. Will someone take the time to help me with my problem? Thank you, Respectfully, Photochief
Photochief

Re: How do I add a black space between two clips?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:10 pm

First, let me say that you really don't want to put two 55 videos on one DVD, Photochief.

A DVD holds about 70-80 minutes of video at full quality. Premiere Elements will compress to a certain extent, but probably not two hours worth on a 4.7 gig disk. Trust me. You're going to run into some serious headaches if you try. (Yes, Hollywood can squeeze more than that on a disk -- but they're using some pretty advanced compression tools AND dual-layer discs.)

That said, it's easy to create a 5-second black video. Just position the playhead between your two movies and go to the Project Assets' Panel Options (in the upper right corner of Project Assets) and select New Item/Black Video).

But first I think you should reconsider maybe spreading those two 55 minute movies out over two DVD discs.
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator