They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Burning DVDs (Scutty)

Specific to Premiere Elements version 13

Burning DVDs (Scutty)

Postby Scutty » Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:54 am

Hello all, Scutty here - new member who has only read posts so far. Still struggling through PREL 13, and I don't know whether this belongs here or not, but here goes.

I bought Steve's book PSE/PRE book and read the paragraphs on burning DVDs and (obviously had to!) try it, and (predictably) got the Windows' "death" message at 98% completion several times, so decided to go the folders/ISO route. It didn't work the first several tries - I got disks but they wouldn't play. So I watched the ImgBurn tutorial, then re-tried but no luck. Since I'm a retired scientist, I decided that a little research was in order, so here's what I did. BTW, my set up is - Dell Inspiron 5748 laptop with a 2 GHz 4510U i7 Intel CPU, and 8Gb RAM running under Windows 10.1 (10.2?) OS.

If I go the AVCHD route to either an ISO or file/folder protocol and then burn the respective resultant files, both produce BVHD folders on the DVD, but neither will play (Sony Blue Ray - notoriously fickle machines I hear). However, if I choose "create image file from file/folders" then load the file from the numerically labelled file created by PREL 13, it then generates its own ISO file with the same #, and when I burn that using the "Write image file to disk" command, it works! The final BVHD files contain (essentially) the same sub-folder headings; the version produced directly by the WIFTD command which doesn't play, has 4 subs, BACKUP (with Backup, Playlist subs), CLIFINF, PLAYLIST and STREAM. The successful operation has an extra 4 subs, AUXDATA, BDJO, JAR and META,however none of them contain any files.

I used Memorex 4.7 Gb DVD-RW media.