They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby margesimpson » Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:59 am

I am running Premier Elements 12 on my MAC.

When I apply Auto Smart Tone it is not applied to the whole video clip. I have checked this by sharing my movie to the computer hard drive so I can view the final version.

thank you for looking at this message
margesimpson
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:14 pm

Hi Marge, Welcome to Muvipix :wcm:

I can at least get you started with a couple of questions. When you add the Auto Smart Tone do you get an Orange line above the entire clip? Have you cut your clip or edited it in any way other than adding the Auto Smart Tone? If this turns out to be a MAC issue then someone else will need to pitch in and help.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17415
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:53 pm

Also, can you post a screen capture of your timeline showing the clip you're applying Smart Tone to to this forum?
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby margesimpson » Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:49 am

Thank you for your replies.

Yes I did get the orange line across the whole clip. And yes I have applied other effects and I could not say in what order.

The attached document shows screen shots of the time line, I could not work out how to get them direct into this area. The change happens about 11 seconds into this clip.

This is just one example from my project and has happened on other clips but not all.

Is there an order in which I should apply affects for the best results?

Any advice gratefully received.
Margaret
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
margesimpson
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:54 am

I've turned your screen capture into an illustration.

A couple of possible issues:
1) What is the resolution and frame rate of your video? It does not seem to match Premiere Elements project settings.
2) What are your Premiere Elements Project Settings (found under the Edit menu)?
3) Since you are on a Mac, are you using El Capitan? This version of OSX has been blamed for a number of issues.

Finally:
1) How far into your clip does the effect disappear?
2) What happens if you slice the clip into two segments?

I realized this is not a very long clip. Not even 15 seconds long. But just see what happens.

Yours is not a typical issue. In fact, I've never seen this issue before. So it could be related to any number of possible elements. It may take some troubleshooting to get to the heart of it.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby margesimpson » Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:36 am

Hi Steve - details as follows

1) I shot in full HD on my compact and that is 1920 x 1080 pixels at 24fps ( - the next setting down is HD at 1280 x 720 with 30fps)
2) Not sure which settings but here at the ones that seem to be appropriate
General - editing mode Quick Time DV NTSC
Timebase - 29.97fps
Video frame size 720 x 480
Display format 30fps Drop-Frame Timecode
Capture - is set to DV
3) I have not updated to El Capitan

4) The effect disappeared just after 11 seconds
5) I sliced the clip and was then able to apply the effect to all the second part of the clip but I tried other clips and it varied whether or not it worked.

I can see my video properties are quite different to the project settings - can they be changed in an existing project to be nearer/equal to my input and what settings do you recommend?
thanks again
margesimpson
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:09 pm

Are those the Project Settings you're using -- 720x480?

Why? If your video is 1920x1080 HD, your project settings should be also. 1920x1080p24.

Usually the program will match the project settings automatically to your video's specs, based on the first clip you add to your timeline. However, MOVs can be a bit complicated, and sometimes the program has trouble matching to its video specs.

But you can do it manually when you first start a project. In fact, try that. On the New Project screen, select Settings and select a preset that matches 1920x1080p24. Then add your clip to your timeline. You should see NO yellow-orange render line above it if you've properly set up the project.

Once youv'e done that, Smart Tone and any other effect should apply perfectly!
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby margesimpson » Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:07 am

Thank you for your help on this. I had thought it would be done automatically - despite pages 40 to 44 of your book.
I cannot see an exact match to pixels + fps but will take the nearest & see what happens.
Margaret
margesimpson
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:31 am

As I say in the book, the program does have problems sometimes matching MOV footage because MOVs are so complicated and can be be made up of such a variety of codecs.

This would be easier if your footage was 30 fps instead of 24 fps. But, that said, try the setting for DSLR/1080p24.

By the way, what do you mean when you say your footage was "shot in full HD on my compact and that is 1920 x 1080 pixels at 24fps"? Did you shoot this footage using your make-up container?
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby margesimpson » Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:56 am

Very funny - rotfl - I should have said my compact camera (Canon S100).

I shall try that setting and put it all in a new project to see what happens.
margesimpson
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Auto Smart Tone does not apply to whole clip

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:08 am

That's very different!

In that case, you should try starting a new project and, on the New Project screen, click Settings and choose the project preset for DSLR/1920x1080 24 fps. Then add your clip to this new project. Hopefully, when you add the video to your timeline, there will NOT be a yellow-orange render line above the footage along the top of the timeline.

Then add Auto Smart Tone and see if this changes your results.

(BTW, using these project settings should improve your entire workflow! The program should edit more smoothly and your output videos should look as good as your original footage!)
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest