They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Output settings for digitized 8mm

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby abby » Sun Jul 03, 2016 9:59 pm

Edit: Just realized I've been rude about this. Not only is it a holiday weekend but I'll be leaving town Wednesday and won't be back for a week. My excuse is that I'd hoped to take the draft video to dad on this trip but it isn't going to work as there won't be time to trouble shoot. I'd still like help with this if any responder(s) don't mind waiting until I return. Apologies for my rudeness.

My dad had 8mm home movies professionally digitized. I've edited and fancied them up and now need help with the Publish & Share part, please. The video is one hour and four minutes long and there's a sharpen adjustment layer on the entire video (may not matter but I know in the past applying a stabilizer caused problems so thought I'd mention it in case).

Original files were .vob
Type: MPEGMovie
Image size: 704 x 480
Frame Rate: 29.97
Pixel Aspect Ratio: 0.9090

Project settings
Editing Mode: HD 1080i (gray)
Timebase: 29.97 fps (gray)
Frame size: 1920 x 1080
Pixel Aspect Ratio: Square Pixles (1.0) (gray)
Fields: Upper Field First (gray)
Display format: 30 fps Drop-Frame Timecode

The first time I tried Computer/AVCHD/MP4 NTSC DV Standard. It worked but the results were mixed in that some of the clips looked fine but others were, not pixelated but I could see lines--I don't know how to describe it, actually other than not acceptable. When I brought the files into PRE I enlarged them so the top and bottom of the clips touch the top and bottom of the monitor panel.

The second time I tried Computer/AVCHD/MP4-H264 1440x1080p 30 and after running for four hours and about 42% complete the computer crashed so I don't know if that would have worked or not, but before I commit to another super long process I thought I'd find out what settings I should be using. If my output choices make you quizzical, it's because I'm completely flummoxed by the choices I have. My goal is a file that I can put on a USB drive to give to my dad so he can review what I have and make corrections before I burn the project to a DVD he can watch on a TV (I imagine I'll be back for those settings later :) ).

I've tried to include everything I thought might be helpful to anyone who'd like to answer this but if I missed something just let me know and I'll do my best to supply it. Thanks for any help.
HP P7-1026, AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor 2.9 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, PSE14/PRE14
abby
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:46 pm

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:30 am

Weekends and holidays are just fine with us, abby. We're on this forum every day!

That said, I'm not sure why used a high-def project setting to edit your standard definition video. Doing so isn't going to improve your video. In fact, it will most likely give you video that doesn't look as sharp and clean as the original.

Better to start a project using settings that are as close as possible to your original video specs. Unfortunately, the folks who digitized your movies gave them back to you with unusual specs. 704x480? You may have to fudge things a bit in order to be able to edit it.

Start a new project. On the New Project window, click Settings and select the settings for Hard Drive Camcorder/Standard 48khz. Then, back on the New Project window, check the option to Force these settings on your project.

Add your VOB video to the project and place it on your timeline. Here's where the fudging comes in. Does your video fill the frame or is it letterboxed? Does it appear normal or does it look stretched tall or wide?

You'll find working with standard definition video pretty easy. You don't say what your computer specs are (You can use your computer specs as your signature, as many of us have done, and it will always appear whenever you post a question). But output using Publish & Share/Computer/AVCHD with the YouTube SD settings should be fairly easy.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby abby » Mon Jul 04, 2016 11:42 am

Thank you, Steve! Since I started this project quite a while ago, I have no memory of why those project settings are what they are. I do have both your PRE 12 and 14 books but seem to have a mental block when it comes to settings. Since I'm starting over I'm going to move to PRE 14--unless you see some reason not to. Will the same settings you mentioned in your reply apply to PRE 14? (And FYI, I'm the old lady that bought your PRE 14 book from you on my birthday--so you are seeing me in the forums :) .)

Edit: Here's what it looks like in PRE 14 with the settings you provided. I can certainly live with this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
HP P7-1026, AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor 2.9 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, PSE14/PRE14
abby
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:46 pm

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:14 pm

Looks pretty good for 8mm film!

Yes, the same setup instructions apply to version 14, abby.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby abby » Mon Jul 04, 2016 5:32 pm

Thank you for the help, Steve. I'm bummed I have to start the project over but it should go faster now that I've made the graphic and music decisions AND the results will be so much better.
HP P7-1026, AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor 2.9 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, PSE14/PRE14
abby
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:46 pm

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby abby » Sat Jul 23, 2016 12:26 pm

I'm ready to Export & Share the video now. In the interim I've purchased DVD Architect 5.0 and will use that for the DVD menu. I'm wondering if the previous recommendation for AVCHD/Youtube SD still applies? If it does, which resolution should I use. In PRE 14 It only offers 1920 x 1080, 1440 x 1080, and 640 x 480. Thank you for your help.
HP P7-1026, AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor 2.9 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, PSE14/PRE14
abby
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:46 pm

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:24 pm

Are you going to create a DVD or BluRay disc, Abby?

That will determine which format you should port to DVD Architect.

And can you confirm with Project Setttings you used in Premiere Elements. It looks like you'd originally planned on using 1920x1080i as your project settings -- but it looks like I tried to convince you to use standard definition video settings instead, since your original footage is only 704x480.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby abby » Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:49 pm

Well, saying I planned to use 1920x1080i is over stating it--more like I had no clue :)

Not sure how much of this you need but checking the settings it says DV NTSC 720x480 30fps Drop-Frame Time Code. Did I get what you needed?
HP P7-1026, AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor 2.9 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, PSE14/PRE14
abby
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:46 pm

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:28 am

If you're using a standard definition project setting (as you are, at 720x480) there's no value in using a high-def output setting. You'll only succeed in making your video blurry.

Output your video for a DVD project in DVD Architect by using Publish & Share/Computer/MPEG with the preset for NTSC DVD Standard.

For more information, check out our free tutorial "Prepping for Disc". It's demonstrates how to output and use this type of video in DVD Architect. And, although the tutorial shows an older version of Premiere Elements, the output settings it uses are the same as those you'll use.
http://muvipix.com/products.php?searchp ... =0&btn.y=0
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Output settings for digitized 8mm

Postby abby » Sun Jul 24, 2016 2:24 pm

Thank you, Steve. I appreciate your help with this.
HP P7-1026, AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor 2.9 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, PSE14/PRE14
abby
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:46 pm


Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest