They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Problems With Still Photographs In PE-11

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 11.

Problems With Still Photographs In PE-11

Postby Avagadro1 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:26 pm

I’m new at video, but an old-timer with Photoshop (the full version). I have a 64-bit Windows 7 set up.

I just purchased Adobe Premier Elements-11 and Steve Grisetti’s book. My projects will all be standard definition, converted from VHS, but for now I’m merely practicing, practicing, practicing. Unfortunately, I’m running into TWO SEPARATE roadblocks when importing still photographs into my test projects.

PROBLEM 1:
I read very clearly that Steve advises no photos greater than 1000 x 750 pixels. Of course he is also quite intuitive when he assumes this will at first be perplexing to an old Photoshoper who works only with 16-bit-dept PSD files, but I get it about video being different than Photoshop’s high-ppi creating continuous-tone images. So I took a 5"x7", RGB, 16-bit, 360ppi, image in portrait mode and downsampled it (in Photoshop) to 1000 pixels at its height (of course lower at its width), RGB, 8-bit. I tried three formats: PSD, tiff and jpeg, as Steve’s book states that all three will work in PE-11.

When I imported the PSD and dragged it to my PE video time line, the image in the Monitor Panel appeared somewhat blurred and distorted. Well, being new at this, I’ve noticed that the program sometimes has a pop-up telling the user that “Rendering” may make things better. Although I have no idea what “rendering” actually does, I nonetheless rendered. The program crashed.

Then I tried the tiff. PE popped-up a failure/error dialog that the image could not be imported.