They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

4K laptop video editing problems 4k vs 1080

Talk about anything here.

4K laptop video editing problems 4k vs 1080

Postby provlima » Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:22 am

Are 4k editing and exporting really worth the hassle??

I am a video editing hobbyist who likes Premiere Elements 14. I recently purchased an Asus GL552VX laptop with a 4k moniitor, 16GB RAM, and an NVIDIA GTX960m card.
It replaced a 4 year old inspiron with an i5 2450 processor that wasn't up to the task of working with 4k, but performed well with editing 1080 media.

After several weeks of use I have found the laptop to be problematic in working with Prem El due to the known scaling problems inherent in a 4k laptop display.
I have learned much from the regulars at the Adobe Premiere Forum and Steve Grisetti's excellent book on Prem El14

I thought that the premium NVIDIA card in my new Laptop and its i76700 processor would help with the 4k video editing, but after researching the Adobe forum I read a post by one of its respected gurus, AT Romano, who advised that NVIDIAs cuda acceleration feature benefits will only work with Premiere Pro not with Prem El. I also was able to learn that Intel's onboard 530 graphics display conflicts with NVIdia's card and can cause problems in Video Editing 4K files.

Others have written that Windows scaler presents other display issues so all my attempts to edit and export 4k files have been very frustrating requiring work arounds, re-starts, disabling the onboard display card etc.